Hunter W. Martin Professionalism Award

Established in 1993, the Hunter W. Martin Professionalism Award is named after the first recipient, Hunter W. Martin. This award was created to be presented to Richmond Bar members who, throughout their lives and careers in the law, have best exemplified the conduct and high ideals embodied in the Bar's Principles of Professionalism. Nominees should possess an understanding of, and adherence to high ethical standards of conduct and tolerance, respect and civility toward clients, opposing parties, colleagues and the judiciary.

Recipients:

? (2023), Edward D. Barnes (2022), John W. Anderson* (2021), Barbara A. Williams (2020), James C. Shannon (2019), Hon. Douglas O. Tice, Jr. (2018), Everette G. Allen, Jr.* (2017), Michael W. Smith (2016), Claire G. Cardewll (2015), Thomas G. Slater, Jr. (2014), Dennis W. Dohnal (2013), Philip B. Morris (2012), Russell V. Palmore (2011), Wyatt B. Durrette, Jr. (2010), Frank B. Miller III (2009), Robert E. Eicher (2008), Robert A. Pustilnik (2007), Hon. Randall G. Johnson* (2006), James W. Morris III (2005), Malcolm M. Christian (2004), Anne Marie Whittemore (2003), Hon. Robert W. Duling (2002), Meredith A. House (2001), Robert M. Patterson (2000), R. Harvey Chappell, Jr. (1999), Hon. Robert R. Merhige, Jr. (1998), Paul M. Shuford* (1997), Howard W. Dobbins (1996), James C. Roberts (1995), Lewis T. Booker (1994), Hunter W. Martin (1993)

* - awarded posthumously

Nominations for the 2024 Professionalism Award are due by 12:00 noon on May 6, 2024 and should be emailed to Jennifer J. West, Chair of the Committee on Awards & Honors, at jwest@spottsfain.com or Annie Holland at the Richmond Bar office at aholland@richmondbar.org. Nominations and any supporting documentation should clearly describe how the nominee meets the award criteria.