John C. Kenny Pro Bono Award

In 1989, the Bar Association of the City of Richmond established its Pro Bono Publico Award, which is presented annually to a Richmond Bar member who has excelled in one or more of the following ways:

- 1. Demonstrated dedication to the development and implementation of pro bono projects to improve delivery of legal services to the poor;
- 2. Contributed significantly toward the development of innovative approaches to delivery of volunteer services;
- 3. Participated in an activity which resulted in addressing previously unmet legal needs or extending pro bono legal services to underserved segments of the legal community;
- 4. Successfully handled pro bono cases that favorably affected the provision of other services to the poor in the Richmond metropolitan area;
- 5. Participated in activities which resulted in the enactment of legislation that contributed substantially to the delivery of services (legal or otherwise) to the poor; and/or
- 6. Devoted significant time to furthering the delivery of legal services to the poor by handling one or more pro bono matters or providing training for or recruiting volunteer pro bono attorneys in the Richmond metropolitan area.

Recipients: ?? (2023), Sarah B. Warner (2022), Carolyn A. White and Lindsay M Pickral (2021), Lonnie D. Nunley III (2020), Tennille J. Checkovich (2019), Ann T. Burks (2018), W. Benjamin Pace (2017), Christopher M. Malone (2016) Pro Bono Clearinghouse (2015), John M. Robb III, (2015) *Benjamin R. Lacy IV (2014) Harry M. Johnson III and Scott C. Oostdyk (2013), Lakshmi Challa (2012), Harry L. Carrico Center at UR Downtown (2011), G. Andrew Nea (2010), Stephen A. Northup (2009), Robert F. Redmond, Jr.(2008), Lawrence M. Cohn (2007), Tara L. Casey (2006), Andrew W. Wood (2005), Allison L. Held (2004), John M. Oakey, Jr. (2003), Sheila C. Marsh (2002), George H. Hettrick (2001), Phyllis C. Katz (2000), Nina E. Olson (1999), Brian R. Marron (1998), Donald Floyd (1997), Timothy M. Kaine (1995), Donald E. King (1994), John C. Kenny (1993), Hunton and Williams (1992), Lenore R. Dreyfuss (1991) and Kathryn L. Pryor (1991), Robert L. Brooke (1990) and Lonnie D. Nunley, III (1990), Chester R. Thomas (1989)

* Awarded posthumously

Nominations for the 2023 Pro Bono Award are due by 12:00 noon on May 6, 2024 and should be emailed to Jennifer J. West, Chair of the Committee on Awards & Honors, at jwest@spottsfain.com or Annie Holland at the Richmond Bar office at aholland@richmondbar.org. Nominations and any supporting documentation should clearly describe how the nominee meets the award criteria.