## Liberty Bell Award

The Liberty Bell Award is based on criteria established by the American Bar Association to recognize persons outside the legal profession who have served to promote a better understanding of our government. The award is given to persons who:

- (1) Promote a better understanding of our form of government, especially the Bill of Rights;
- (2) Encourage a greater respect for law and the courts;
- (3) Stimulate a deeper sense of individual responsibility to the end that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights;
- (4) Contribute to the effective functioning of our institutions of government; and
- (5) Inculcate a better understanding and appreciation of the rule of law.

*Recipients*: Lelia N. Martin (2023), Jeff E. Schapiro (2021), John Marshall Foundation (2019), S. Buford Scott (2013), Thomas A. Silvestri (2011), Hon. Susan Clark Schaar and Hon Bruce F. Jamerson (2010), Laura Sanchez-de Solar (2008), Sister Cora Billings, Rev. Benjamin Campbell, Dr. Jack Spiro (2006), Dr. Warren Stewart (2005), Vernard W. Henley (2002), James E. Ukrop & Robert S. Ukrop (2001), Charlie McDowell (1999), Susanna M. Capers (1992), Mary Tyler Cheek (1991), Roy A. West (1986), \*Harold I. Nemuth (1985), Thomas Cannon (1985), Harry F. Byrd, Jr. (1982), Frances A. and Sydney Lewis (1981), John Warren Cooke (1979), Governor Mills E. Godwin, Jr. (1978), Thomas J. Bliley, Jr. (1977), Virginius Dabney (1976), Dr. George Modlin (1975), Lt. Paul Galanti (1973), Claiborne Robins (1969), Lt. Julius R. Johnson (1968), H. I. Willett (1966), Thomas Boushall (1964)

\* - awarded posthumously

Nominations for the Liberty Bell Award are due by 12:00 noon on January 19, 2024 and should be emailed to Jennifer J. West, Chair of the Committee on Awards & Honors, at jwest@spottsfain.com or Annie Holland at the Richmond Bar office at aholland@richmondbar.org. Nominations and any supporting documentation should clearly describe how the nominee meets the award criteria.