Corporate Counsel Section

The Corporate Counsel Section provides a medium for corporate attorneys to cooperate with each other on issues common to them. The section is open to those employed as a full-time salaried employee by a corporation or by a government body regularly engaged in corporate-related matters. Annual section dues are $25 in addition to being a member of the Richmond Bar Association.  JOIN



Annual Meeting – May 31, 2016 – 4:30 – 6:30 p.m.

The Corporate Counsel Section’s Annual Meeting that will take place May 31, 2016 at 4:30 p.m. at Willow Oaks Country Club. In addition to section business, the meeting will feature a panel discussion entitled “Pathways from Law to Business Leadership”. The Section is privileged that Martin J. Barrington, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President, Altria Group, and Thomas F. Farrell II, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Dominion Resources, both of whom started at their respective companies as in-house lawyers, will be panelists, and Grace R. den Hartog, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Owens & Minor, will moderate.

The event is FREE for RBA Corporate Counsel Section members. Non-members may attend at a cost of $25 per person. To encourage non-member attendees to join the RBA Corporate Counsel Section, the attendance cost of $25 will satisfy your section membership dues ($25 in addition to RBA general membership dues).  Hors d’oeuvres, beer and wine will be served.

Reservations must be received by May 26, 2016; there will be no refunds after May 26th.

If you are registering as a section member only – please RSVP to Sharon Potter at

If you are registering as a non-section member click here

The election of officers for the 2016-2017 Bar year will be held at the meeting. The Nominating Committee nominates the following members for the following positions:

Chair:             A. Calais Fitzmaurice, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
Chair-Elect:    Anne-Marie M. Anderson, New Market Corporation
Secretary:      Preston D. Wigner, Universal Leaf Tobacco Company, Inc.

Executive Committee:
Heath Galloway, Owens & Minor, Inc.
John M. Oakey, III, Community Bankers Trust Corporation and Bank of Essex
Whitney W. Pinna, Carmax
Nicholas G. Sladic, Capital One